Data Management, Exchange, and Quality Working Group

EuroGOOS Data Management, Exchange, and Quality Working Group (DATAMEQ WG) helps improving harmonization and integration of European marine data. DATAMEQ WG works hand in hand with Copernicus Marine Service (CMEMS), SeaDataNet, EMODnet, JERICO Next and AtlantOS. The working group fosters links between real-time and historical data streams and works closely with EuroGOOS Task Teams.

DATAMEQ WG works to:

  • Develop an overall concept for the management of EuroGOOS observation data taking into consideration existing data management systems;
  • Identify observations required for either in real-time or in delayed mode data;
  • Propose the most effective ways to make observation data readily available for operational purposes;
  • Propose mechanisms to ease access to delayed mode observation data in cooperation with National Oceanographic Data Centres (NODCs), keeping aware of the progress in SeaDataNet;
  • Draft a minimum set of standards for data quality control which is related to observation data collection, processing and exchange procedures.

Working group members:

  • Sylvie Pouliquen (Ifremer, France) – working group chair
  • Dina Eparkhina (EuroGOOS Office) – supporting the working group

EuroGOOS BOOS and NOOS representatives:

  • Susanne Tamm (BSH, Germany) 
  • Johana Linders (SMHI, Sweden)
  • Fiona Carse (UK Met Office)
  • Kate Collingridge (Cefas, UK)

EuroGOOS IBI-ROOS representatives: 

  • Marta de Alfonso (Puertos Del Estado, Spain)
  • Julien Mader (AZTI, Spain)

EuroGOOS MONGOOS representative: 

  • Leonidas Perivoliotis (HCMR, Greece)

EuroGOOS Arctic ROOS representatives:

  • Arnfinn Morvik,Vidar Lien, Sjur Ringheim Lid, and Henning Wehde (IMR, Norway)

Black Sea representative:

  • Veselka Marinova (IOBAS, Bulgaria)

Programme representatives:


  • Thierry Carval (Ifremer, France) 

CMEMS INSTAC/EMODnet Physics/Jerico S3

  • Juan Gabriel Fernández (SOCIB, Spain)


  • Dick Schaap and Peter Thijsse (MARIS, Netherlands) 
  • Simona Simoncelli (INGV, Italy)


  • Antonio Novellino (ETT, Italy) – Physics
  • Alessandra Giorgetti (OGS, Italy) – Chemistry


  • Leonidas Perivoliotis (HCMR, Greece)
  • Joaquin Tintore (SOCIB, Spain)


  • Neil Holdsworth and Hjalte Parner (ICES)


  • Vidar Lien (IMR, Norway)
  • Kai Sorensen (NIVA, Norway)


  • Benjamin Pfeil (Univ. Bergen, Norway)

EuroGOOS Tide Gauge Task Team

  • Begoña Perez (Puertos del Estado, Spain)

EuroGOOS FerryBox Task Team

  • Wilhelm Petersen and Gisbert Breitbach (Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon, Germany)

EuroGOOS Glider Task Team


EuroGOOS HF Radar Task Team

  • Julien Mader (AZTI, Spain) and Emma Reyes (SOCIB, Spain)

DATAMEQ Documents: