Ocean Literacy EuroGOOSOcean Observing and Ocean Literacy – a win-win deal

The EuroGOOS Ocean Literacy Network has been established to upscale the national efforts of the EuroGOOS members and contribute to broader Ocean Literacy efforts globally.  Download our OceanObs’19 poster here.

The EuroGOOS Ocean Literacy Network works to:

  • Provide visibility and recognition of the members’ Ocean Literacy efforts at pan-European and global levels;
  • Allow re-using, re-purposing, adapting or translating each other’s materials;
  • Join efforts in collaborative projects or initiatives and help foster international partnerships;
  • Contribute to the European role in international Ocean Literacy in link with the UN Ocean Decade’s developments.

The EuroGOOS Ocean Literacy Network brings together experts from 20 organizations; in 8 countries and 3 organizations with pan-European or global remit. The group is facilitated by the EuroGOOS Office.

Members include:

  • Network coordinator: Dina Eparkhina, EuroGOOS Office
  • AZTI tecnalia, Spain – Carolina Alonso
  • Balearic Islands Coastal Ocean Observing and Forecasting System (SOCIB), Spain – Veronica Ortiz, Llúcia Ribot, and Rosa Rodríguez
  • Euro-Argo ERIC / Ocean Observers Working Group – Claire Gourcuff
  • Euro-Mediterranean Center on Climate Change (CMCC), Italy – Paola Agostini
  • Hellenic Centre for Marine Research (HCMR), Greece – Panayota Koulouri
  • Institute for Environmental Protection and Research (ISPRA), Italy – Elena Giusta
  • Institute of Oceanography (IEO), Spain – Mari Carmen García
  • Institute of Oceanology of the Polish Academy of Sciences (IO-PAN), Poland
  • Irish Ocean Literacy Network, Ireland – Noirin Burke
  • Joint Centre for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology in situ Observations Programmes Support (OceanOPS) / Ocean Observers Working Group – Emanuela Rusciano
  • Marine Institute, Ireland – Cushla Dromgool-Regan
  • Mercator Ocean International – Fabrice Messal
  • Met Office, United Kingdom – Ana Aguiar
  • National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology (INGV), Italy – Simona Simoncelli, Marina Locritani, and Antonio Guarnieri
  • National Institute of Oceanography and Applied Geophysics (OGS), Italy – Donata Canu, Elisa Banchi, and Francesca Malfatti
  • National Oceanography Centre (NOC), UK – Lucy Cox (until February 2021)
  • National Research Council (CNR), Italy – Angela Pomaro
  • Norwegian Institute for Water Research (NIVA), Norway – Kai Sørensen and Anna Birgitta Ledang
  • Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences (RBINS), Belgium – Kelle Moreau