High Frequency Radar

High-frequency radar (HF Radar) is a unique technology mapping ocean surface currents and wave fields (along with other variables) over wide areas with high spatial and temporal resolution. HF Radar is cost-effective, requiring only small manpower and technical costs. 

Users of HF Radar technology include meteorology services, search and rescue agencies, governments and regional and local authorities, as well as private companies working in assessment of coastal water quality, renewable energy, or other environmental services.

The EuroGOOS HF Radar Task Team helps coordinate the European activities around the development and use of this coastal technology. The Task Team is providing a European HF Radar operational network delivering data and products for science, environmental management, and operational needs. As all EuroGOOS operational task teams, the HF Radar Task Team plays an important role in identifying research gaps, delivering commong standards and promoting synergy, towards an integrated European Ocean Observing System (EOOS).

The EuroGOOS HF Radar Task Team contributes to improving administrative procedures, promotes scientific synergies and complementarity with other technologies as well as modeling products. The Task Team’s broad network allows sharing success stories and discuss common challenges, to allow a stronger joint progress.

Specifically, the HF Radar Task Team aims to:

  • Define data standards and products;
  • Define and share the quality assurance and quality control standards;
  • Promote research, technology and innovation development; 
  • Enhance interface between the technology providers and implementers; 
  • Act as the European operational HF Radar node and develop joint outreach activities.


List of Members


  • Julien Mader, AZTI, Spain
  • Lorenzo Corgnati, CNR ISMAR, Italy


  • Anna Rubio, Lohitzune Solabarrieta, AZTI, Spain
  • Silvia Piedracoba, CETMAR, Spain
  • Annalisa Griffa, Carlo Mantovani, Lorenzo Corgnati, CNR-ISMAR, Italy
  • Bartolomeo Doronzo, Bernardo Gozzini, Carlo Brandini, Giovanni Ficca, Stefano Taddei, Consorzio LaMMA, Italy 
  • Antonio Novellino, ETT, Italy
  • Mikko Lensu, Finnish Meteorological Institut, Finland 
  • Anna Konstantinidou, Gerasimos Korres, HCMR, Greece 
  • Gisbert Breitbach, Jochen Horstmann, Johannes Schulz-Stellenfleth, Marius Cysewski, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany
  • Thomas Helzel, HELZEL Messtechnik, Germany
  • Guillaume Charria, Louis Marié, Ifremer, France
  • Stipe Muslim, Vlado Dadic, Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries, Croatia
  • Vânia Lima, Instituto Hidrografico, Portugal
  • Begoña Vila, Garbiñe Ayensa, INTECMAR GIS, Pedro Montero, Intecmar, Spain
  • Mariangel Garcia, IST-MARETEC, Portugal
  • Alejandro Gallego, Barbara Berx, Bill Turrell, Marine Scotland Science, United Kingdom
  • Bruno Zakardjian, Céline Quentin, Charles-Antoine Guérin, MIO – Univ. of Toulon, France
  • Branko Cermelj, Matjaz Licer, Vlado Malacic, National Institute of Biology, Slovenia
  • Michael Hartnett, National University of Ireland, Ireland
  • Paul Bell, National Oceanography Centre (NOC), United Kingdom
  • Bruce Hackett, Sune Jensen, Kai Christensen, Kjetil Stiansen, Snorre Ronning, Vegar Kristiansen, Norwegian Meteorological Institute, Norway
  • Rui Caldeira, Ocean Observatory of Madeira, Portugal 
  • Laura Ursella, Vanessa Cardin, OGS, Italy 
  • Carlos Barrera, Joaquin Brito, Ruben Marrero, PLOCAN, Spain 
  • María Isabel Ruiz Gil de la Serna, Pablo Lorente, Puertos del Estado, Spain 
  • Maria Fernandes, Andres Alonso Martirena, Jorge Sanchez, Qualitas Remos, Portugal and Spain
  • Herman Peters, Mando de Jong, Marc Philippart, Rinus Schroevers, Rijkswaterstaat, Netherlands 
  • Cariou Valérie, Franck Dumas, Stéphanie Louazel, SHOM, France
  • Maja Jeromel, Slovenian Environment Agency, Slovenia 
  • Patrick Gorringe, SMHI, Sweeden 
  • Guiomar López, Emma Reyes, Joaquin Tintoré, SOCIB, Spain 
  • Hezi Gildor, Institute of Earth Sciences, Israel 
  • Anne-Claire Bennis, University of Caen, France 
    Thomas Schlick, University of Hamburg, Germany 
  • Adam Gauci, Aldo Drago, University of Malta, Malta 
  • Enrico Zambianchi, Pierpaolo Falco, University of Naples Parthenope, Italy 
  • Fulvio Capodici, Giuseppe Ciraolo, University of Palermo, Italy
    Daniel Conley, University of Plymouth, United Kingdom
    Lucy Wyatt, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Alkiviadis Kalampokis, Vassilis Zervakis, University of the Aegean, Greece 
  • Jose González Fernández, Ramiro Varela, University of Vigo, Spain 
  • Concepción Bueno, Generalitat de Catalunya, Spain
  • Jordi Isern-Fontanet, Lucía Quirós-Collazos, Justino Martínez, Joaquim Ballabrea-Poy, Emili García-Ladona, Cristina González-Haro, Institut de Ciències del Mar (CSIC), Spain
  • Rosemary Lawlor, Anne-Marie Fitzgerald, Joanne Cullinane, Met Éireann, Ireland

EuroGOOS Facilitation:

  • Deniz Karaca, European Global Ocean Observing System (EuroGOOS), Belgium

Terms of Reference


Group technical documents (Scientific papers, project deliverables, etc), follow this LINK

HF Radar map  (Click on the stations dots for more information)

Map of locations of the 107 HFRs included in the current EuroGOOS Task Team inventory (July 2021). The ongoing systems (69) are plotted in green, future installations (14) in yellow and non-functioning (24) in purple (including historical deployments or currently inactive stations). 45 HFRs are connected to the HFR node (pulsing circles) sending data in near real-time.